Waterfalls and Broom Trees


Today, I was reading from a morning prayer book. I read about how important it is to find a place of retreat, to get alone with God and talk with Him. I don’t know about you, but, I don’t even know what a broom tree looks like…nor do I expect to find one. For some, a broom tree may look more like a broom closet! Doesn’t matter! Whatever it takes..finding time alone with God is a MUST or else the stresses of life will take it’s toll on our bodies.

For me,  “broom trees” are waterfalls. I love waterfalls! When I go on retreat these days, I hunt them! I love to hike and find a beautiful waterfall to sit beside and journal, listen to nature, look at nature and hear God in the midst of it all and the thundering falls…or trickling water (we have dry seasons when the falls are more like trickles).

I love to listen to a babbling brook or stream if the falls are not available. But, I can’t just get up every morning and go hunt a waterfall. So, when I need that place of rest and retreat…right in my own home…I plug in my little rock fountain and put in a cd that has ocean waves and soft classical music. I light a few candles and I journal right there. We all have an environment that helps us to find quiet and retreat. Depending on the urgency and what is available, this can go from a broom tree to a broom closet to a thundering cascading waterfall…or a simple table top fountain. Create the environment you need to take a personal retreat..whether at home or away. As water gives life…don’t forget the Well that never runs dry. You can drink from the Water of Life and never thirst for more. His name is Jesus Christ.

Flavor Shot:

John 4:14

“…but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never be thirsty again.”

About rhemajoy

I love the reviving, motivating aroma of freshly ground coffee beans first thing in the morning. Freshly pressed coffee is the essence of rejuvenation. But what I love even more is the revival I receive each morning when I start the day firmly grounded in the Word of God. So grab a cup of java and join me on this journey from glory to glory as each new morning beckons for a fresh cup of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waterfalls and Broom Trees

  1. svenoblivion says:

    I am so enjoying these posts…love you.

    – s

  2. rhemajoy says:

    I’m glad. I have more but I’m still trying to figure them out. Love you too!

Don't forget to share your thoughts!

