A Dream Becomes Reality


This is taken from what I wrote in the moment a couple days ago after learning that a lifelong dream had become a reality…

“Today I awakened to fulfill a commitment. I had committed myself to attend an open house that will be the new location for a remarkable ministry called Lovelady. I was excited about this open house when I made my reservation, but due to unforeseen circumstances, I lost my motivation as the date drew near. However, knowing that I had made the commitment, I had to fulfill it. So, reluctantly, I dragged my heavy laden body out of bed early, accomplished my chores and headed out. I had no idea the surprise that God had in store for me!

The very second I approached the glass double doors and saw all the activity going on on the other side, I began to feel joy bubbling up inside me.  As the doors opened, I was warmly greeted by a couple ladies who stopped me to fill out an attendance form. I could hardly wait to finish writing so I could get inside and look around.

Finally, I walked into the center of a room filled with camera crews and chatting people everywhere. There were all kinds of tables set up with drinks and fruit and coffee and breakfast foods…typical of an open house.  But I was about to discover so much more.  There was so much life and joy in the air.

As I stood there, I could feel the hair on my arms standing on end as chills rushed from the top of my head to the bottom of my feet. I started looking at the design plans that were on display and I began to be completely overwhelmed as I realized that I was standing smack dab in the middle of something I had been dreaming up in my head for the last decade! The legwork was already done! I only had to join in where God had been working all along! There is no other place like this anywhere around! It’s my vision come to life before my very eyes! I couldn’t believe it! I still can’t believe it! My dream…a reality…surrounding me..swallowing me in!

The entire time I was there, listening to the speakers and touring the facilities, over and over…the chills and tears never stopped. It was my dream…down to the last detail! But it was even bigger than my limited mind could have ever imagined! It was a God sized dream come true!

It just didn’t seem like it could be real! For the last couple years, I have been asking God over and over, ‘Why did You take me away from my home in TN? Why did you move me to Birmingham? Why couldn’t I have stayed in TN and got married? Why here? Why?’ Today, I got my answer. God gave me a husband and moved me to Birmingham because He has a purpose for everything and a plan…and He had those things planned for me long before I was born! As I stood in the middle of that center, I realized, ‘THIS is the purpose for which I have been created! THIS is the ministry that everything in my life has prepared me for!  This is Romans 8:28 and Isaiah 61:3!  When I walked through those double doors to enter that room…I walked through the open door to the ministry I have hungered for…that God gave me the desire for so many years ago! Today, my dream is a reality!”

A Bit of History

I was 16 years old the first time I sensed a call to women’s ministry. I am now 43 and I finally get to see that calling fulfilled.  I had to go through such a long and difficult journey to get here…but worth it…so worth it!

For the last decade, I have dreamed of a center for female victims of domestic violence to go to in order to begin a new life through rehabilitation. I have dreamed of a Christian women’s center that would put Christ at the core to help women rebuild beauty from the ashes. The center would be Christian supported. It would assist with housing, finances, recovery, childcare, job training, and education. The women would receive counseling and be loved on and taught how to see their worth. They would have medical care and legal counsel. These things can be found at the Lovelady Center.  TLC was originally a place for addicts and former prisoners. But it has grown into so much more. Now they take in homeless women and children, victims of domestic violence, and more. This ministry is to modern day widows. the poor and the fatherless. This is my passion. This is my call. This is a dream come true! To God and God alone be all the glory forever and ever amen!

Learn more about The Lovelady Center and how you can become involved at http://www.loveladycenter.org

About rhemajoy

I love the reviving, motivating aroma of freshly ground coffee beans first thing in the morning. Freshly pressed coffee is the essence of rejuvenation. But what I love even more is the revival I receive each morning when I start the day firmly grounded in the Word of God. So grab a cup of java and join me on this journey from glory to glory as each new morning beckons for a fresh cup of faith.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Inspirational, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Dream Becomes Reality

  1. Luella Rogers says:

    Katrina – this seriously gave me chills! I am SO happy you have found your purpose! I can’t WAIT to read your posts once you get started! I am truly, truly excited for you! I myself will be volunteering for an organization called Streel Light Phoenix. It’s a “safe house” for girls that have been removed from the streets for prostitution. I will just be starting out as administrative support, but God may turn it into something else! 🙂

    • rhemajoy says:

      Luella,

      Thank you so much for your comment! I am so excited for you. That sounds like s wonderful ministry right down your alley! You will be so good at this! I love that you and I have our faith in common. I do hope we will see one another again someday.

Don't forget to share your thoughts!

