One With God


“Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves.” – John 14:11

In verse 11 of John 14, Christ declares that He is one with the Father. He is in the Father and the Father is in Him. In Verse 20 He tells us that we are one with the Father through the Son (assuming we have received the Son). Just as Christ is in the Father and the Father in Him…so is Christ in Christians…and as adopted children of God, we are in Him…therefore we are also in the Father and the Father is in us…as He is also in Christ. As born again believers…we become one with each other and with God through Christ in us. Is there a way to even fathom what that means? Is there a way for us to understand the power that we have been given?

If I could fully grasp this…would I ever live a defeated Christian life? Is there really such thing as a defeated Christian life? Christian means follower of Christ.  I cannot be a true follower of Christ and live in defeat. If I am feeling defeated…this should be a warning sign that I am probably not following His commands. Therefore, I am not loving God first (which is the first and greatest command that I should be following).

In Christ I have access to the very same power that resurrected Him from the dead…the full power of God is at my disposal according to His will. I have only to believe and obey His commands. Seems simple enough right? So, why do so many Christians walk in such defeat? Why aren’t we all out evangelizing instead of finding our security in stuff and status? Why do I battle insecurity?

Father, on this day, it is my prayer that You will open my eyes to understand what it means to live in victory…to tap into the power which You have given me full access to through Christ in Me. Help me to live a victorious life in You. Forgive me, Lord for the times I have not done so. Deliver me from myself….Make me salt and light….to the Glory of God.  Amen.

Shot of Flavor:

“On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you.” -John 14:20

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

About rhemajoy

I love the reviving, motivating aroma of freshly ground coffee beans first thing in the morning. Freshly pressed coffee is the essence of rejuvenation. But what I love even more is the revival I receive each morning when I start the day firmly grounded in the Word of God. So grab a cup of java and join me on this journey from glory to glory as each new morning beckons for a fresh cup of faith.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Don't forget to share your thoughts!

